Friday, August 18, 2017

Steven Wilson "To The Bone"

Country: UK
Genre(s)Progressive Rock/Pop
Label: Caroline International
FormatCD, vinyl, digital, Blu-Ray
Release date: August 18, 2017
1. To The Bone (6:41)
2. Nowhere Now (4:03)
3. Pariah (4:46)
4. The Same Asylum As Before (5:14)
5. Refuge (6:43)
6. Permanating (3:34)
7. Blank Tapes (2:08)
8. People Who Eat Darkness (6:02)
9. Song Of I (5:21)
10. Detonation (9:19)
11. Song Of Unborn (5:55)

Total Time 59:46

Steven Wilson: vocals, guitars
Ninet Tayeb: vocals (3, 7)
Sophie Hunger (9)

Fusing driving futurist rock and spectral electronics to elegiac hyper-space ambience and dizzying, squalling guitars, To The Bone is Steven Wilson’s hat-tip to the hugely ambitious progressive pop records of his youth (think Peter Gabriel’s So, Talk Talk’s Colour of Spring, Tears for Fears Seeds of Love).
Lyrically, the album’s eleven tracks veer from the paranoid chaos of the post-truth era and the creeping self-loathing of the technology age to steely fly-on-the-wall observations of the everyday lives of religious fundamentalists with a welcome shot or two of wide-eyed escapism. Sonically and melodically stunning, To The Bone is a high definition snapshot of the disconcerting times we live in. 
The Same Asylum As Before
Song Of I

Web page

1 comment :

  1. Thanks for sharing and good description about the album. I can’t wait to listened to Steven Wilson. Youtube has the work in progress videos.